The House of Representatives has voted for a third time on Republican Ohio Rep. Jim Jordan for speaker, and for a third time, Jordan has not obtained the necessary votes.

Jordan obtained 194 votes from Republicans, House Minority Leader Hakeem Jeffries had 210 votes from Democrats, and 25 Republicans opted to vote for candidates other than Jordan.

Those Republicans who did not vote for Jordan were Don Bacon of Nebraska, Vern Buchanan of Florida, Ken Buck of Colorado, Lori Chavez-DeRemer of Oregon, Anthony D’Esposito of New York, Mario Diaz-Balart of Florida, Jake Ellzey of Texas, Drew Ferguson of Georgia, Brian Fitzpatrick of Pennsylvania, Andrew Garbarino of New York, Carlos Gimenez of Florida, Tony Gonzales of Texas, Kay Granger of Texas, John James of Michigan, Tom Kean of New Jersey, Mike Kelly of Pennsylvania, Jen Kiggans of Virginia, Nick Lakota of New York, Mike Lawler of New York, Marionette Miller-Meeks of Iowa, Marc Molinaro of New York, John Rutherford of Florida, Mike Simpson of Idaho, Pete Stauber of Minnesota, and Steve Womack of Arkansas.

During Friday’s vote, three new Republicans flipped against Jordan: Fitzpatrick, Kean, and Molinaro. 

The vote indicates that Jordan may be losing ground with Republicans — he had won 199 votes from Republicans on Wednesday and 200 votes from Republicans on Tuesday.

A fourth speaker vote is possible but not confirmed.

Before the vote, former Speaker of the House Kevin McCarthy nominated Jordan for House speaker, praising Jordan as a leader, a listener, and a fighter.

“Jim is the right person to take that seat behind me, to be our next speaker of the House,” McCarthy told Congress.

The House has now voted three times on Jordan for speaker. All three votes failed.

This is a breaking news story. Please check back for updates.

Have an opinion about this article? To sound off, please email, and we’ll consider publishing your edited remarks in our regular “We Hear You” feature. Remember to include the URL or headline of the article plus your name and town and/or state.