Egypt: Who’s Who in the Transitional Government

Charlotte Florance /

Li Muzi/Xinhua/Photoshot/Newscom

Li Muzi/Xinhua/Photoshot/Newscom

Egypt’s former President Mohamed Morsi no longer controls the purse strings or answers the direct line in the presidential palace. So who exactly is running Egypt’s political and economic affairs?

The interim cabinet, comprised largely of anti-Morsi supporters and technocrats, now governs the country. Prime Minister Hazem El Beblawi has said the cabinet’s top priorities will be to restore security, ensure the flow of goods and services, and prepare for parliamentary and presidential elections. The new cabinet is comprised of 33 ministers, including three women and three Christians—but no Islamists.

The only Islamist party that supported the army’s removal of Morsi, the al-Nour Party, declined positions in the interim government (as did the Muslim Brotherhood). Discouraged by the transitional process underway in Egypt, the al-Nour Party is now suggesting that, if the anti-Morsi coalition does not build an inclusive government, it is likely to repeat the same mistakes Morsi was blamed for.

Here are thumbnail sketches of 10 prominent cabinet ministers:

1. Hazem El Beblawi, prime minister:

2. Mohamed El Baradei, vice president for international relations:

3. Abdel-Fattah El Sisi, first deputy prime minister and minister of defense:

4. Ziad Bahaa El Din, deputy prime minister and minister for planning and international cooperation:

5. Hossam Eissa, deputy prime minister and minister of higher education:

6. Ahmad Jalal, minister of finance:

7. Nabil Fahamy, minister of foreign affairs:

8. Dorreya Sharaf El Din, minister of information:

9. Mohamed Ibrahim, minister of interior:

10. Mohamed Amin El Mahdy, minister of transitional justice and national reconciliation: