House Speaker John Boehner was elected to his third term as the No. 1 Republican in the lower chamber, but not without resistance from more than two-dozen fellow GOP lawmakers.

Boehner collected 216 votes. Former speaker Nancy Pelosi, D-Calif., his closest rival, received 164.

Republicans needed 29 defectors to defeat Boehner. Twenty-five lawmakers did not vote for the newly elected House Speaker, the most no votes cast against a speaker in the last century. One of those members — Rep. Brian Babin of Texas — voted “present,” which lowered the threshold for the number of votes Boehner needed to win the speakership.

>>> 23 Conservative Leaders Warn Boehner Not to Punish GOP Dissenters

Of the alternatives to Boehner, Rep. Daniel Webster of Florida earned 12 votes. Three lawmakers voted for Rep. Louie Gohmert of Texas, and two cast votes for Rep. Ted Yoho of Florida.

Meet the 25 Republicans who did not vote for newly elected @SpeakerBoehner.

Rep. Jim Jordan of Ohio also won two votes, though he was not officially nominated. Nine others received votes.

Here are the 24 GOP lawmakers who did not vote for Boehner, as well as Babin.

  1. Rep. Justin Amash, Mich.
  2. Rep. Rod Blum, Iowa
  3. Rep. Dave Brat, Va.
  4. Rep. Jim Bridenstine, Okla.
  5. Rep. Curt Clawson, Fla.
  6. Rep. Scott DesJarlais, Tenn.
  7. Rep. Jeff Duncan, S.C.
  8. Rep. Scott Garrett, N.J.
  9. Rep. Chris Gibson, N.Y.
  10. Rep. Louie Gohmert, Texas
  11. Rep. Paul Gosar, Ariz.
  12. Rep. Tim Huelskamp, Kan.
  13. Rep. Walter Jones, N.C.
  14. Rep. Steve King, Iowa
  15. Rep. Thomas Massie, Ky.
  16. Rep. Mark Meadows, N.C.
  17. Rep. Rich Nugent, Fla.
  18. Rep. Gary Palmer, Ala.
  19. Rep. Bill Posey, Fla.
  20. Rep. Scott Rigell, Va.
  21. Rep. Marlin Stutzman, Ind.
  22. Rep. Randy Weber, Texas
  23. Rep. Daniel Webster, Fla.
  24. Rep. Ted Yoho, Fla.
  25. Rep. Brian Babin, Texas

>>> John Boehner Elected to Third Term As House Speaker